Honors of the Association

Celebrating excellence in the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology.

The Honors and Awards of the Arkansas Speech-Language-Hearing Association are intended to identify and recognize those individuals whose contributions to the professions of speech-language pathology and/or audiology in the state of Arkansas are significant, outstanding, and excellent. The ArkSHA Honors and Awards are presented annually during the ArkSHA Convention.


About the Award: 

Honors of the Association is the highest honor the association can give and recognizes distinguished contributions to the field of communication disorders. It is limited to members of the Association. 

Deadline for Nominations:

Nominations are accepted year round, with a deadline of July 15th to be considered for the current year. Those selected will be announced and recognized at the ArkSHA Annual Convention, typically held in October.  

Nominations Requirements:

Nominations must include the following information:

  1. The online nomination form (with statement of nomination in 3 sentences or less).
  2. Photo of Nominee
  3. REQUIRED:Narrative text that provides the rationale for why this individual is being nominated. Consider the following points for the narrative text:
    1. Identification and description of the outstanding clinical or research achievement.
    2. Information on when and where the specific achievement took place
    3. Description of the significance of the achievement
    4. Explanation of how the nominee's actions have advanced knowledge in the area of clinical, practical, or research.
    5. Explanation of the nominee's role in the achievement
  4. OPTIONAL: Supporting letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the nominees works.

The requested supporting documents may be uploaded in PDF format of 1 combined file when filling out the nomination form, or emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Past Recipients

2019 Dana Barrilleaux
2015 James Thurman
2014 Nancy Dunn
2011 Betholyn Gentry
2010 Susan Moss-Logan
2005 Carol Fleming
2005 Kay Hall
2005 Brandi Nixon
2004 Patti Martin
2003 Michael Winston
2002 Jane Willard
2000 Donna Fisher
1999 Martha Alman
1998 Mary Cherepski
1998 Beverly Hildebrand
1997 Sharon Ross
1996 Dan Tullos
1995 Kathy Roberts
1994 Judith Womack
1994 Beth Eaton
1994 Barbara Shadden
1993 Sara Zeno
1993 Susan Russell
1992 Carolane Jones
1991 Terri Hutton
1990 Elaine McNiece
1989 Virginia Berry
1988 Lillian Blakesley
1987 George Herndon
1986 Joanna Davis
1985 Martha Anderson
1985 Jane H. LeBlanc
1985 James Montague


© 2021 Arksha. All Rights Reserved.
Ph. 501-244-0621 - PO Box 24103 Little Rock, AR 72221
Powered by WebJIVE